Delivery of the 2018 National Architecture Prize to Manuel Gallego Jorreto

The Ministry of Development has awarded the National Architecture Prize for the year 2018 to the architect D. Manuel Gallego Jorreto. The jury recognizes the professional career of this architect, with more than 50 years of professional practice marked by an architecture committed to his native Galicia, and characterized by an honest dialogue between traditional materials, trades and modernity. Prophet in his land, he has developed an architecture that ranges from single-family homes in small Galician towns such as Corrubedo or Oleiros, to such emblematic projects as the Museum of Fine Arts of A Coruña (National Architecture Prize 1997), the Presidential Complex of Galicia -Official residence of the President of that Community- or the Museum of Pilgrimages in Santiago de Compostela. Always from a sincere, respectful but at the same time brave attitude, that he has put the environment, the landscape and the general interest before any personal stamp.

The National Architecture Prize, endowed with 60,000 euros, is promoted by the Ministry of Public Works, which awards the award on the proposal of a jury made up of outstanding professionals, under the honorary presidency of the Minister of Public Works, Mr. José Luis Ábalos Meco.

On this occasion, the jury was made up of Mr. Rafael Moneo Vallés (National Architecture Prize 2015), Mr. Elías Torres Tur and Mr. José Antonio Martínez Lapeña (National Architecture Prize 2016, acting as Presidency of the Jury by unanimous election of the same), Mr. Luis Fernández-Galiano Ruiz (at the proposal of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of San Fernando), Mr. Manuel Blanco Lage (at the proposal of the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities), Dª. Luz Fernández de Valderrama Aparicio (at the proposal of the Higher Council of Colleges of Architects of Spain), Ms. Concha Barrigós (at the proposal of the Federation of Associations of Journalists of Spain) and Ms. Fuensanta Nieto de la Cierva (at the proposal of the General Directorate of Architecture, Housing and Land). The Secretary of the jury was Mr. Francisco Javier Martín Ramiro (General Director of Architecture, Housing and Land) and the Secretary of Minutes Mr. Luis Vega Catalán (General Subdirector of Architecture and Building).

Leave a Comment